A DIY Brush Rest

It is a truth universally acknowledged* that a brush covered with adhesive must be placed somewhere. And if you’re like me, it drives you slightly insane when it’s placed on something and promptly rolls off, smearing said adhesive over your work surface. Fear not! Your troubles are over! I present to you a handy-dandy brush rest that can be made in pretty much any conservation lab or studio in which you may be working, and which can be made in under a minute. I am sure I’m not the only one who has come up with this, but I thought I would share it anyway.

Step 1: Begin with a scrap piece of cardstock. I prefer something like 20-point; you want it to be stiff, but easily folded. Trim it to about 1.5″ x 1.5″.

2016-09-06-17-34-45

Step 1.

Step 2: Fold cardstock in half.

2016-09-06-17-35-21

Step 2.

Step 3: Take a pair of scissors and cut two slits perpendicular to the fold.

2016-09-06-17-36-05

Step 3.

Step 4: Open the fold and push the area between the slits down so that the fold is inverted.

2016-09-06-17-36-43

Step 4.

Step 5: Trim the height if necessary, and voila! You have a brush rest.

2016-09-06-17-37-36

SUCCESS!

 

* My apologies to Ms. Austen.

About Saira

Saira is a newly fledged book conservator currently working in Saint Paul, MN.
This entry was posted in book conservation, bookbinding, DIY, paper conservation, tools and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A DIY Brush Rest

Leave a comment