Art in New York

I didn’t realize when I moved to New York how abundant art really is around here. I mean, people would comment on it, but I didn’t really understand them until I moved here. Frankly, it’s hard for me to walk a block without noticing something, somewhere.

For instance, I live in Harlem. Here’s a view of the engaged columns on one of the buildings near my bus stop:

2013-03-27_11-03-35_388

A few weeks ago, I had to go down to about 60th Street and Fifth Avenue for an assignment. On my walk back, I noticed the following monument to Frederick Olmstead, designer of Central Park:

2013-03-13_12-25-10_121

When I go to school, some of my classes are in the Duke House, which can finally be seen sans scaffolding:

2013-03-13_12-45-15_278

If you’re curious as to the interior, you can get a good view in this video promoting Beyonce’s latest tour. I had class in this room every week last term (Beyonce and paintings of flowers not included).

And all that doesn’t include the art galleries I pass on my way to the bus stop where I catch the bus back home. The bus stop itself is located outside a Russian art gallery that has constantly changing exhibits.

And those don’t include happy surprises that just turn up on walks through the city, like the following architectural embellishments on a building near the NYU downtown campus and a fake flower hanging out on the window grill of what appeared to be an abandoned building:

 2013-03-26_16-36-51_318          2013-03-29_12-13-47_18

About Saira

Saira is a newly fledged book conservator currently based in New York.
This entry was posted in architecture, NYC, public art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

