Spring in DC!

This last week was spring break. Contrary to popular belief, spring break isn’t actually a ‘break’ — it’s when you frantically scramble to get as much done as you can so that the succeeding weeks allow you to retain some semblance of sanity.

Regardless of this, I did actually have a pretty lovely break. I spent time with family in the DC metro area, which also allowed me to work on finalizing my plans for the summer. It seems like most of my classmates will be spending at least some part of their summer abroad; quite a few will be going on archaeological digs. I have to admit I am somewhat jealous and, since we will all be presenting on our summer projects in September, I’m aware that I will need to step up my game to have anything as exciting to report!

As part of my running about to finalize my summer project, I had the opportunity to visit the Hillwood Estate, Museum and Gardens, which I feel I can confidently characterize as a hidden gem in the Washington, DC area. Located in northwest DC, the Hillwood was formerly the residence of Marjorie Merriweather Post. It currently boasts a wonderful collection of French 18th century decorative arts and Russian Imperial art (there’s a fabulous display of Russian Imperial coronation albums at the moment!); but almost as breathtaking are the grounds — 25 acres of gardens and woodland for visitors to rest their eyes on.

The Hillwood Estate

The Hillwood Estate

I ended up going there on an absolutely beautiful day — one of those rare spring days that actually feel like the spring poets write about (as opposed to the rainy, slushy spring we are all more familiar with). Perhaps it’s just that nothing is blooming in New York yet, or at least wasn’t when I left on break; but I just reveled in the sunshine, the flowers, and the heady scent of hyacinths. So I thought I’d share some of what I saw for those of us for whom spring hasn’t quite yet sprung:

A pot of daffodils in the Hillwood gardens

A pot of daffodils in the Hillwood gardens

Hyacinths!

Hyacinths!

One of the beautiful sculptures on the estate

One of the beautiful sculptures on the estate

A view down the waterfall into the Japanese garden

A view down the waterfall into the Japanese garden

Another beautiful statue on the estate

Another beautiful statue on the estate

ETA:   To put things in perspective, when I got to the train station in suburban Maryland to hie my way back to New York, there were huge fluffy snowflakes falling from the skies and several inches on the ground:

Snow!

Snow!

So much for spring!

About Saira

Saira is a newly fledged book conservator currently based in New York.
This entry was posted in house museum, libraries, museums, travels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring in DC!

  1. Saira says:

    Thanks for reading! And yes, Hillwood really is a lovely place!

    Like

  2. eatwithpleasure says:

    I love Hillwood! I’m looking forward to going back and enjoying the grounds once the trees are fully in blossom.

    Like

  3. Yasmin haqqi says:

    Thanks for sharing your spring break with us. Reading through I could literally smell all the delicious fragrances of the different flowers, that bloom around this time in DC.Having spent many years in DC, it did bring back many wonderful memories of those times….

    Like

Leave a Reply

